Jump to content

Delete specific backed up files from a backup set?


Recommended Posts

We are using v11 for Windows. We accidentally backed up many GB of unnecessary files from a particular server, one of many servers that were backed up. I don't want to just recycle the backup set and start over. I have added the evil directory to the list of items to ignore going forward. But I would like to remove it from the backup in order to save space on the destination. Can I do that and if so, how? I don't want to wait for grooming to age it out.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

As far as I know, there is no way to delete just a directory.

 

What you could do is:

Start another backup set, perhaps a temporary one.

Copy/Transfer your current backup set to the new one using a filter that excludes the directory in question.

Then use the new backup set for your backups OR copy/transfer the files back to the original set and then "forget" the temporary backup set.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You can forget all of a client's snapshots, provided you have a disk backup set.

 

From the top of my head:

Go to Configure->Backup set

Select the first snapshot from this client. 

Click on "Forget". Wait a few minutes.

Select the next snapshot from this client. 

Click on "Forget". Wait a few minutes.

Repeat until all snapshots have been forgotten.

In order to actually regain the space, you must now groom the backup set.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...