Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Ron Haines

Retro 10.5 decides to backup directories listed under the Privacy tab

Recommended Posts

I noticed that an overnight backup of my machine had copied a huge amount of data (17G compared to an expected 1G). Browsing the backed up files I saw a directory of temp files which I had listed under the Privacy tab in the client to prevent it being backed up. This exclusion had worked for dozens of backups until this most recent one. This only change which might have happened prior to this backup was that I added one more directory to the Privacy tab. Details: 10.5 server (running on OS X 10.7.5), 9.0.2 client (running under OS X 10.8.5), backing up to disk media.

 

Related to this, I setup a windows machine for backup last week and added a directory to the Private tab, only to find it was backed up. Has anyone else seen the settings under the Privacy tab not being respected by Retrospect? Am I misunderstanding how the Privacy tab works?

 

Another possible bug: in the OS X client, the list of directories under the Privacy tab is never enabled to allow a directory to be selected, regardless of whether the user has authenticated or not. This means there is no way to remove a directory from that list. 

 

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Make sure the source option on the backup server is allowing the user to exclude items from backup.

 

In 10.5 go to Sources>options

On Windows go to Configure>Clients>properties

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On the Retro 10.5 server, Preferences > Clients > Allow clients to: exclude items from backups   is ON. (and has been on since the server was configured)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just in case this lets someone else avoid my brain-block...

After a long time looking irritably at the disabled settings in the client on my machine, I finally realised that the user options for allowing exclusion of files etc have to be enabled per client (which is actually what Robin said above, but didn't sink in to my brain). It is not sufficient to turn on "Preferences > Clients > Allow clients to: exclude items from backups" on the Retro server. You then have to go to each source and enable the options you want. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×