Jump to content

Media backed up twice?


Recommended Posts

I haven't found any information saying whether Retrospect 6 resolves an issue where media is backed up twice if a drive is used on both OS9 and OSX machines.

 

Is this still the case?

 

We have a number of drives that are used both on OS9 clients and OSX clients and now that many of our OSX machines are not dual-boot this is posing a large problem for us. We were fine when we could reboot our OSX machines into OS9 for their backups of an evening. Upgrading all machines to OSX is not an option as some of our clients are pretty slow (and we don't want to have to pay to upgrade every OS9 machine in the building just yet).

Is there any work-around at all?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi

 

This is still the case though there isn't a whole lot Dantz can do about it. Retrospect uses some basic criteria to see if a file has changed. It relies on the client OS to report that information. If the client OS changes the information that is reported about those files also changes. As a result Retrospect backs the files up again. In other words the files are identical from a user perspective but they are different from the perspective of the machine.

 

Nate

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...