Please help me customize by back up strategy for OS X

I am a very long time veteran of Mac OS 9 and Retrospect. I recently upgraded to OS X and I find my DAT 3 tape drive can't keep up with the size of the new system and the many large files (movies, iTunes, etc.) so I need to come up with a new strategy. I have a home-based graphic arts business so I have some large work-related files as well and I must take care to have incremental back ups and offsite backups of these files. Also, I am getting old and find it hard to cram into my head all the latest tech info that must be accounted for to make sure all contigencies are covered. For example, having to make sure that I have exact copies of system, software, updaters to software, registration codes, Retrospect boot/recovery CD, and what have you, is just too much for me. I will forget something and my restoration will fail or be greatly delayed when I need it. Also, because I want a life beyond computer back ups, I would like to create a strategy that will work for at least 3 years so I don't have to re-think it before then. Here is what I propose.

Forget about my tape drive (which has issues due to an Adaptec SCSI card anyway), and purchase 2 large firewire disks. Each disk will have 2 partitions: 1 for a bootable clone and the other for incremental back up of only key files (home folder and any jobs stored outside home folder). I will rotate the 2 firewire disks (one to an offsite the other next to my computer).

Restoration scenario 1: My hard disk crashes. I can just boot and run from the external firewire drive currently on site.

Restoration scenario 2: A file gets damaged, corrupted or accidentally altered in a bad way. I pull the most appropriate previous version from the archive partition of the external firewire drive currently on site.