Jump to content

Major data loss in backup sets without warning


Recommended Posts

Due to a drive name change (done by someone who was not a backup administrator). Retrospect gave no warnings or showed anything in logs that this drive was 'missing' or not backed up. It dissappeared from the backup scripts altogether.

 

Moral of the story? trust NOTHING. Triple check your backups daily, make sure that each and every backup happens. This makes 4 major data losses my company has had in the last 1.5 years in retrospect, and I felt the need to share this with the community so that it doesn't happen to you as well.

 

Dantz doesn't publicly post any bugs/eratta/known issues with their software that I've been able to find yet, so we are left to fend for ourselves on these matters. In the interest of sharing with the community I would urge others who are experiencing anomolies to share them with us here so that we have enough tools to fend for ourselves and avoid this sort of critical data loss.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The "trust nothing" moral is a good one for backups. However, I haven't learnt anything from your posting about what to avoid.

 

How were your backups affected by a drive name change? Only backup files matching some selector? Specific volume listed as source? Backing up only selected volumes in Client setup? (I don't like this one because it is fragile and invisible.) Mounting a volume over file sharing? (I much prefer using a client!) Backup script? Backup Server script?

 

In my experience drives don't just disappear from backup scripts, although it is certainly possible to have backups fail in quiet ways. Part of "trust nothing" is finding out how to monitor whether things are working. The log tells you about some problems, but not all.

 

The Report window is a good place to browse for volumes or clients that have been lost due to configuration issues.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi John

 

It was a selected volume done through a client backup. It disappeared (in that when the volume was renamed retrospect seemed to behave the same way it would have if I had have told it to "forget" the volume). Because of this it no longer shows up in the originating script or in the report window at all. Also it was done through backup server.

 

HTH

 

Mark

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...