Recovering Space Inside a Backup Set

I use Windows XP Pro, a Maxtor external drive, and Retrospect 6. I have been running automated daily progressive backups for a few months. Today, I ran a full backup, and created a boot CD. I would like to delete the older backups, freeing up room on my Maxtor drive. Am I allowed to simply delete files within my backup set that have a date prior to today's date, or do I run the risk of damaging the backup set? I only use a single backup set for everything.

Thanks!

Herbert

Greetings Herbert:

A "recycle" backup will work very well. All the old files are purged and your left with a new full back-up. There might be some issues if using "backup to file" verses "backup to disk", but am not sure on that one. I use "backup to disk" and select to perform a "Recycle" backup to purge all the old backup files when my two hard drives are full. I have three drives, an 80 gig and two 18 gigs. I use the two 18 gig drives to span my backup's across both. Works great! I backup daily.

When I do a Recycle backup, both drives are purged of old backup data and a new full backup is left on the fist member.

I consider the original full backup as a concrete image and all the subsequent progressive backups are restore points, 100% accurate to that point in time. I don't see a reason to dump the original full backup unless so much of the current data has changed as to cause a progressive backup to be nearly as large as the original full backup!! Every progressive backup is complete unto itself. It does not need the previous progressive backups to restore to that particular point... Just the original full backup and A particular restore point! Ci? (I await my correction) if needed...