Jump to content

Retrospect 6.5 Pro confused by PartitionMagic


jch

Recommended Posts

Whenever I resize a partition using PartitionMagic, Retrospect thinks that new disks have been installed in the system.

- Scripts no longer work. They have to be edited to point to the same (but resized) partitions;

- Disaster Recovery discs no longer work smoothly. They show *multiple* version of each volume and force you to choose which to use as sources and destinations (although there is no easy way to distinguish which one is the current one).

- "Normal" restores suffer from similar usability problems (multiple volumes listed, difficult to distinguish which is which).

 

But, somehow, when backup scripts run on the re-sized drives, they easily determine that it is indeed a volume it has seen before and only back up the changes.

 

Why doesn't the same behavior happen for scripts and restore operations (recognizing re-sized source and destination volumes)???

 

.../j

 

Retrospect Pro v6.5.350

XP Pro, SP2

PartitionMagic 7.0 (build 303)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...