failure to enter context, error -1216

jsloan

I've been sailing along for several months, backing up several server volumes, exchange data and sql server data without any problems. This week my backups suddenly began to fail, the log message being: T-2: Failure to entere context, error -1,216

Can't find any reliable info on what this error means, or what it's being caused by.

Any ideas?

(We've also been getting an inexplicable error -2001, unexpected termination, possibly due to system crash, but there is nothing in the windows event viewer and the system isn't crashing)

Same problem here, with the latest version of the french version of Retrospect for Small Business Server on the french version of Small Business Server 2003. The server is an HP Proliant ML350 (1 Xeon 2.8Ghz, 1GB RAM, 3x36GB HDD RAID5, built-in HP SACI RAID controller), using an HP DAT72 for backup.

I'm trying to backup some volumes and some exchange mailboxes and the error message seems to appear only for the volumes for every backup or restore jobs, launched manually or using a script.

The strange thing is that despite that message everything seems to work fine, the file comparison between tape and HDD is always ok and I can still restore all the files from the tapes without any problem.

• 2 months later...

I'm getting the same problems. I'm using Retrospect 6.5.350 (how do I find the driver version?) and Exchange 2003 with the current service pack etc installed. The hardware is a non-branded P4 3.4G system with 2Gb RAM & masses of disk. The backup device is also an HP DAT72 drive (and media).

The error occurs backing up all mailboxes. A sample log follows.

If I try to add more mailboxes to the backup script I also get an error "Not connecting to Exchange (see log for details). There is no retrospect log entry for this, but there is an event log (which seems to occur a lot)

Access denied attempting to launch a DCOM Server using DefaultLaunchPermssion. The server is: