content unrecognized - damaged tape

Using: Win2000, Retrospect Multi Server 6.5.350, SPECTRA 2000 AIT Drive

Hello,

I am quite new to Retrospect and I apologise if this is a stupid question...

I have the problem, that it seems that one of my tapes is damaged (Tape 12 of 17). If I load it into the drive Retrospect comes up with the message "content unrecognized".

As we are doing an incremental backup I would:

a: like to know which data is missing and

b: I would like to backup the missing data again to a new tape which should appear as tape 12.

I hope I described my problem good enough, if you have any further questions just ask.

Greetings

seick

Hi

You will need to go to configure->backup sets->backupset name->properties and set the member as "missing". That will tell Retrospect that the files on that tape are gone and need to be backed up again if they are still on disk.

The backup process is linear in many respects so you can't specify a new tape # 12. All the data will be appended to the last member of the set.

There isn't really a good way to see what was on that tape. The best option is to start a "search for files" restore and leave the search criteria blank. This will give you a list of every file in the backup set. Anything file with an asterisk next to it was on the damaged tape.

Nate

• 3 weeks later...

Hey Nate,

I'm experiencing the exact same problem with a similar configuration:

Windows Server 2003, Retrospect MultiServer 6.5.350 w/the latest rdu.px, Spectra2k Library w/dual AIT drives. The Library's firmware is up-to-date. The Library is connected to a Dell PowerEdge via an ATTO ExpressPCI card (which appears to use an Adaptec 29160 chipset).