error -206, "drive reported a failure"

I've been using Retrospect for more than six months. We use a different tape every night. I'm using an HP Ultrium SureStor drive (double-checked the hardware compatibility already). The Friday before last I started getting -206 errors. The text reads: Trouble writing tape name ( tape number? ), error -206 (drive reported a failure: dirty heads, bad media, etc.).

After the first time I ran the cleaning tape through, and I've done that another time. I shut the server and backup drive down, and started back up. Still getting the error. During the day I run a proactive backup of our laptops, and that's been running fine. This week and last weeks Tuesday backups finished okay, though it is worth noting that last Tuesday used a fresh tape . Each tape is only used once every 4 weeks. They've probably been used 8 times each at most. It seems odd that 5 tapes would have a problem at once.

Under Devices, Environment the tape drive reads as: ID 1:3, Vendor HP, Product Ultrium 2-SCSI, Version F3AD, Driver HP Ultrium Gen 2 DC (1.41).

I'm running version 6.5.336. So, I am due to update the software though it had been running fine. No errors show up in my Windows 2000 server log files. Any suggestions? I'm not exactly budgeted to replace all my tapes.

Thank you!

Strangely enough I just been having the same problems with HP ultrium 2 drive in our overland library.

After working fine for months it generated the same error. I gave it a clean (the first in a year !) - It worked ok for a few hours then generated the error again. I risked one more clean but it kept happening for about a week. This has now happened with quite a few tapes so I am sure it is the drive not the tape that is having the problems.

After a bit of research seemed to be some issue with cleaning tapes and early versions of the firmware on HP ultrium drives ....

http://support.overlandstorage.com/jive/entry!default.jspa?categoryID=7&entryID=2074&fromSearchPage=true