Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
nordie

How do you turn off client notification?

Recommended Posts

I'm running Backup Server from 6.0, OS X Server 10.3.3.

 

How do I turn off the client notification that prompts each client to either choose 'backup' or 'defer'? It currently counts down a few seconds and backs up, but I don't want them to receive any notification except if they don't get backed up for xx number of days.

 

Thanks in advance!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't think you can turn that notification off. It is to give a user sitting at the computer a chance to defer the backup in case it would be inconvenient to have their computer busy at the moment. (For example they might be about to reboot, or are doing performance critical work at the moment.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the response.

 

I see your point, and that could be an issue in some environments, but I haven't noticed a performance hit substantial enough to interfere with anything critical in my particular environment.

 

I think there should be a way - where do you adjust the amount of time the notification counts down before defaulting to 'backup'? Maybe that can be set to '0' to accomplish what I'm looking for.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×