New iMac OS 9.2.2 Freezes

I just purchased a new iMac and it is running OS 9.2.2.

When backing up, the server will go through all of the files and folders and after matching the retrospect screen disappears and the server freezes.

However, I can go and select each individual file to do an immediate backup and it works, but if I try to back the whole thing up at once, it freezes

I am running Retrospect 4.3.

Any ideas?

I'm sorry. I'm not following. You say that I need to create a set of Extensions that are Mac OS Based???

I'm pretty new at trouble shooting Retrospect. I have been backing up and restoring data for about a year, but I have had no real troubles.

I am running retrospect server 4.3 and retrospect client 4.3.

The new iMac Freezes when I try to do an immediate backup and when I try to do a scheduled backup. However, I can take each and every individual folder on the iMac and back them up, but I can't back them up when I choose the entire hard drive. (I know this is a little confusing, but does it make sense?)

Thank you,

dwalker@mc-group.com

• 3 weeks later...

Express does not support tape drives. Are you using a different edition?

What is the exact mechanism of the device? This is available in the Device Status window (from Configure > Devices).

Try backing up to a file backup set stored on the local drive to rule out device problems first.

I am sorry. I might have had you chasing rabbits. It might not be express. When I go to about retrospect, the screen states that we are running Backup Retrospect and then it says SCSI: SCSI Manager 4.3

In configure device, it list our device as a Sony AIT DC, SCSI 1 :5

Thank you for you time. I don't know what to do. Everything in the building backs up except this new iMac.