Can I backup a Firewire External HD to an AIT-2 Firewire Tape Drive?

Hello all, this may seem to be a silly question, but I'm new to this whole "client" thing, I've always used Express or Desktop before so pardon my ignorance.

I just purchased a LaCie AIT-2 External U&I Tape Drive and have it connected to my G4 Quicksilver Tower, via Firewire (in the first of 2 available FW ports). I'm on OS 10.1.5, using Retrospect Workgroup 5.0.238. I was able to backup my internal 60GB (ATAPI) hard drive flawlessly. So, now I want to backup an External LaCie Firewire Hard Drive, which is connected to the 2nd Firewire port on the back of the G4 and everytime I try to do so, it hangs after 1.5GB of data transfer and I have to force quit Retrospect.

I've also tried to connect the External Firewire HD via the External U&I Tape Drive (in a chain, where it still appears on the G4 Desktop) and that hangs it up as well.

I tried to install Client on the Ex.HD, but when I went to install it, it didn't give me the option, only the G4 internal HD was an option. I obviously don't understand this "client" thing very well, as stated earlier.

Another interesting note, when I tried to find out the LaCie HD manufacturer using Apple System profile, what showed up under the Firewire 80.0 area was: LaCie 1394 Disk drive LUN 0, vendor ID: do4b. The ext. HD was not visible, as if it wasn't on there. When I turned the AIT off, that didn't help either, still no Ext. HD. When I unplugged the AIT and rebooted, the Firewire 80.0 info was the same, but now at the very bottom (of the Devices and Drives Tab, Apple Sys. Profiler) there is a box which now shows the Ext. HD (FireWire 117 GB, which is the name of the drive).