BUSlink/TEAC CD-W516EB

(Some of this was posted to the Mac OS 9 forum for device & hardware compatability. New information has been added.)

I've been running Retrospect for about 10 years now, with a Python tape drive hooked to a Quadra 700. Now I'm running a PowerMac G4 DP/450 with OS 9 and OS X; I've been transferring all my files to a second Mac and backing up to the same tape drive. However, this is time consuming and cumbersome, taking several hours if not the better part of a day. My Sony Spressa CD-RW is only a 2x - way too slow for backup as well.

I saw a Universal BUSlink FireWire CD-RW with 16X write speed on sale and picked it up, not realizing that Retrospect has more compatability issues with CD drives than tape (apparrently), and that this drive was not listed as supported or non-supported by brandname. After realizing that the drive was not on the list, I did some poking around. It seems that both Toast 5 Platinum (the drive comes with Toast Lite) and Retrospect see the drive as a TEAC CD-W516EB drive mechanism, which is also in three approved FW CD-RW drives for the Mac: an EZQuest Boa, an Ikebana Fireblaster, and a QPS Que! Fire. Some web searching revealed that this drive does NOT use packet writing, one of the operations that Retrospect desperately needs in CD-RW drives to be effective. This is a mechanism feature, not a case or software feature. Then why is this mechanism approved in three other drives?