Jump to content
Stainless316

Extending a partition causes new volume

Recommended Posts

I just extended a partition and now when I run Retrospect, the volume is treated as a new volume (the "previous" volume is now offline).

 

How can I get Retrospect to understand that it is the same volume as before (just larger)?

 

I'm running v 7.5.324

 

Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK... things seem to be behaving in the desired way.

 

I was afraid that I would have to do a full backup of the disk. I ran the backup anyway.

 

What happened was that I had some weirdness with the backup volume. It complained that it didn't know where it was. I browsed to my regular volume for this backup it and things started working.

 

The system scanned the disk and figured out that it was the same and only backed up changes since before I extended it.

 

It's all good now, but the behavior is a bit confusing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×