Retrospect 7.7 Can't Groom or Recreate Catalogs for Backups Made by 7.6

glam

I have been using Retrospect to backup to a ReadyNAS NV+ for several years. I have used Retrospect 7.5 and 7.6 without problem.

I recently paid to upgrade to 7.7 (currently using 7.7.341), and I backed up a few times with it. Last night was my first backup with 7.7 that did grooming. (I had groomed using 7.6 in the past with no problem.)

Grooming failed with the following error:

"Grooming Backup Set Backup Set A failed, error -2241 ( Catalog File invalid/damaged)

"You must recreate the Backup Set's Catalog File.

"See the Retrospect User's Guide or online help for details on recreating Catalog Files."

When I tried to recreate the catalog file, I was told that some files were missing and that I could view them. When I tried to view them, Retrospect died with an error:

'Error info: Assertion failure at "db.cpp-174"'

There is a dump in assert_log.utx.

Then I just went ahead and recreated the catalog file (without viewing the missing files), it ran for a while but the log reported hundreds of missing files (as was reported above). [i wonder if the attempt to view the files died because there were more missing files than the software could handle.]

My log also ended with these two lines:

"After a Catalog rebuild, only the most recent backups for each source are stored in the Catalog.

"Older backups can be added by going to the Backup Sets' view Backups tab and clicking Retrieve."

Does anyone know where this "view Backups tab" lives and how I can do this Retrieve?

I also looked at operations_log.utx in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Retrospect.

In it, I saw many pairs of lines of the following form:

"VLoc::vlocRDiskDoGetFInfo: 'AA016876.rdb': fileinfo.datapos=51,595,043, old max=64,096,177

"VLoc::vlocRDiskDoGetFInfo: >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Warning!!!! datapos is lower, file is neglected."