Sign in to follow this  
MattiasNYC

Need help with merge/transfer of sets - details provided...

Hi,

Mattias is the name and I'm a newbie to the forum. I've been responsible for Retrospect Pro (XP) for a few years now in a media production facility and I need to make some changes. I'd love it if anyone could chime in on a few questions I have.

Details first:

Windows XP Pro, CS2

Retrospect Pro, 7.6.123

Total of 2 times 3 backup sets.

One "original" on DVD's (about 50/set, 3 sets)

One "copy" on DDS4 tapes (also 3 sets)

The media should contain identical information (i.e DVD Set 1 = DDS4 Set 1)

These 3 sets constitute an archive of projects the facility has been working on for more than a decade. The "backups" ("archival") were done by preparing the projects for archival, and then putting them into a dedicated folder on our file server. I would then manually have Retrospect backup onto DVD set X (media from that "archive folder"), and then manually start the other media set DDS4 set X (same "archive folder"). So the contents in either media should match I would think. After filling up about 50 DVD's I "closed" that set and started a new one to make disaster recovery a bit easier (rebuilding catalogs etc).

now...

Desired action + Question:

I wish to move away from DDS4 tapes and to external HD's. Which way is the best to merge all (3) previous sets to one new drive set? I've read the text about "transfer set" and it seems to be the appropriate option. I simply create a new set, and transfer the old sets one by one to the new one; is this correct? Everything should be "merged" into this new set, yes?

Additional problem: