Server saying "media" but I've got erased tapes in there!

I'm running Retrospect Server (6.1.230) and using an Exabyte tape jukebox. I've been using it for a couple of years and everything was fine. For the first time, I'm seeing this weird behavior: I put replaced some full tapes (continuation of the backup), erased them, and resumed the server. Even though the "configure devices" screen is showing it knows there are 5 tapes in there marked as "Erased", the relevant script is listing all of its clients as "media" (meaning, it thinks its out of tapes). What's going on??

Mike

Do you have the checkbox "Automatically skip to blank media" checked in the Preferences-->Media handling?

EDIT:

Assuming you only run "Backup server" and no scheduled scripts, you can run a Normal backup just to get things going again.

Edited by Guest

Do you have the checkbox "Automatically skip to blank media" checked in the Preferences-->Media handling?

no, it was unchecked, and when I checked it, it worked! But oddly, this has never been a problem before - in hundreds of such situations over the last few years, it used to just start up on the blank media. I wonder what's different now!

Assuming you only run "Backup server" and no scheduled scripts, you can run a Normal backup just to get things going again.

These are my scheduled scripts.

thank you!!

Mike

no' date=' it was unchecked, and when I checked it, it worked! But oddly, this has never been a problem before - in hundreds of such situations over the last few years, it used to just start up on the blank media. I wonder what's different now!

[/quote']

Most likely you removed the last tape BEFORE it was completely filled by retrospect.

> Most likely you removed the last tape BEFORE it

> was completely filled by retrospect.

makes sense, but I was careful to leave the last tape (as numbered by Retrospect) in there, and in fact I could see it still in there, among the "erased" tapes, when this wasn't working.

Mike