Retrospect Backup Strategy

I'm a consultant who has been using Retrospect Single Server for a while now, so I'm pretty familiar with how it works, but up to this point, most of my clients have only wanted to keep a rolling backup of maybe 2 months or so. If a client wants to retain some data indefinitely, that's a pretty small amount of data, and we back it up manually.

I just got a new client who has about 200GB of data on their server and another 200GB of data spread across several workstations. So that is 400GB of constantly changing data, live on the drive.

They want to retain everything. Forever.

I was figuring on running a disk-to-disk backup that would alternate between two backup sets every month. This covers me for the short-term recovery of files that might accidentally be deleted.

What are your suggestions for archiving data on a long-term (forever) basis? To me, tape drives are like dinosaurs. I haven't seen one in a long time, but is that my only option? Online services seem pretty expensive too.

--Matt

I'm looking at at least double this amount of data daily, however most of that needs only be retained for a short time. So automatic grooming is probably my most favourite function of Retrospect. What needs to be archived gets archived in three locations on different media in a regular file system, so it's relatively future savvy.

We've extensively used tape in the past and I for us it was the best solution to switch to hard disk backup for its speed advantage.

Recently one of our clients wanted their online data, besides double offsite, extra secure offline as well. So at the moment we are testing an RDX cartridge system. This looks like the future tape replacement technology. However an RDX cartridge costs about four times as much as an LTO-4 cartridge. This regrettably is pure marketing, as the technology itself should only make it twice as expensive at the most.