UI hangs 4+ hours per mouse click during restore.

Hello. System stats: Retrospect Multiserver version 7.6.123, DU 7.6.2.101. dual Xeon 2.33Ghz 3065, 4GB RAM, Win 2k3 X64 SP2. Backup to (2) 1.5TB disks.

Backup set I'm recovering from is 170.5GB for 5,272,372 files, available space is 1,176.6GB. Catalog file compression is enabled. The source is a quad Xeon 2.3Ghz CentOS 4 Linux system with 4GB RAM and a 1TB RAID 5 array formatted using ext3.

I've been using this configuration for several months and getting very good performance. Today, I went to recover a single file from a snapshot from April 27th. I selected "Restore files and folders from a point in time", selected Advanced Mode, and began to select my source, destination and files chosen. I selected the specific snapshot I wanted, and that took a bit of time, not too long.

When I went to select the file to restore, the application seemed to lock up -- hourglass flipping for 4-5 *hours* for each key press or click in the window. I had to recover the file and this was my only source, so I decided to see it through.

Click on the first-level directory in the selector window, watch hourglass for 4 hours. Click the + next to it, wait four hours. Click in the scroll down area to move a page down, wait four more hours. No lie, it took me 48 hours to recover the file. The system task manager showed Retrospect was using 550MB of RAM during this time (Retrospect at idle is using 30.4MB). No other applications were running on the system, and Retrospect was doing nothing else the whole time. If I moved the cursor outside the Retrospect window, I could do other things, like launch Task Manager. So the system wasn't deadlocked; it was the application that was stuck.

It seems obvious that the problem must be the number of files in the file system. My question is, what can I do to back up this file system and still make timely restores when requested?