Frustrated Newbie

Sorry if this seems dumb but I'm new to Retrospect and only recently switched to Apple. I'm now at 5hours with "Getting started" and I'm nowhere.

Everything seems to be installed but I can't see my TimeCapsule to add it to a media set. I'm using only Ethernet (no wireless). Airport utility shows an IP of 10.0.1.1 and a name of SGPTimeCapsule. So how do I add this as a member? I tried an "Add Share" under the "add member" and I specified "afp://10.0.1.1/SGPTimeCapsule.local" with appropriate username and password but all I got was "These credentials are no valid". Is this even the right way to add a TimeCapsule?

The Sources list shows "Backup of r1200" (my machine name) with the proper capacities but "browse" results in "source unavailable". I presume that this is the TimeMachine backup.

Would some kind soul please start me off with hints/links/Faqs before I tear my hair out. BTW the videos on the support page won't download/play for me (possibly corporate firewall related) so please don't suggest those.

Thanks for any help

Steve

BTW the videos on the support page won't download/play for me (possibly corporate firewall related) so please don't suggest those.

I suggest you watch the videos on the support pages.

You should make the effort to acquire these available resources before you ask others to go the extra mile to describe processes to you.

Of course, if things don't work as they should, this is the appropriate place to provide information and hopefully get some answers from other Retrospect users.

Dave

No I'm not trying to back up the TimeMachine backups with Retrospect. I was hoping that I could use the remaining 500GB of that particular 1TB TimeCapsule for Retrospect backups. Ultimately I'd completely disable TimeMachine because I find it too limited. My problem is that I can't seem to get Retrospect to recognize that device as a viable location to store backups.

Thanks

Steve