DVD-R/+R Invisible on Desktop

I have been using Retrospect for over 15 years and never seemed to have any major problems. For the last few years I have been backing up onto DVD-RAM disks using a LaCie (Matshita DVD-RAM LF-D310)

We have now switched to backing up onto DVD-R or DVD+R's because DVD-RAM disks are harder to find. I am using an intel Core Duo iMac4,1, 2 GHz. Mac OS X version 10.4.11 and I want to use the SuperDrive to backup onto the DVD's.

Matshita DVD-R UJ-846 (Driver: Matshita DVD-R - RDI (5.12)

Firmware Revision FB2U

DVD-Write : -R, -RW, +R, +RW, +R DL

Retrospect Version 6.1.23

RDU 6.1.15.101 (I have tried taking the .rdi files out and installing an older version RDU 6.1.11.101, but I had the same problem)

I have configured the maxell DVD-R's as well as the DVD+R's in Retrospect and can back up onto these DVDs fine, but they don't want to mount on the desktop. I can see the DVD in both Retrospect and in the Disk Utility applications, and I can also retrieve files from it through Retrospect. All I need now is to be able to see the DVD on the desktop so I know I have the correct DVD number, like any other DVD that is not a retrospect DVD. I have CDs, DVDs, and iPods checked on in the "Show these items on the Desktop" preference. I have tried taking the .rdi files out and installing an older version RDU 6.1.11.101, but I had the same problem.

Do you have any idea's what I may be doing wrong here? I can keep backing up to invisible DVD's but I would like to know the media is there.

Thanks in advance.

I have been using Retrospect for over 15 years and never seemed to have any major problems.

Yep, I started on version 2.0 as well, back on a long-retired ASIP server.

For the last few years I have been backing up onto DVD-RAM disks using a LaCie (Matshita DVD-RAM LF-D310)