Suggestions for upgrading backup system...

Hello,

Currently I run an alternating backup system (1 set is Tuesday/Thursday and the other Monday/Wednesday/Friday/Saturday/Sunday) allowing me to keep 1 set off-site nightly. Right now this is being done via FireWire from a G5 tower via a FireWire AIT-2 Turbo tape drive & tapes. I've been running this setup for 4+ years now and we've outgrown it (in terms of cost of tapes vs storage capacity), and I have a feeling the drive is on its last leg.

So, I'm wondering, what would people suggest for replacing this system? I will have the option of setting whatever the new system is on either an Xserve (G5) or possibly an Xserve (Intel). Again, I'd like to keep it to portable media (like tape or cartridge) that I can keep off site each night.

Advice would be appreciated!

Thanks,

Kristin.