Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
atravesde

7.6 multiserver - how refresh new client netbios name

Recommended Posts

Hello

 

we have more than 200 retrospect clients, and new corporate policies must be implemented, one of them is to change all netbios computer name,

 

if i change via active directory all the computer name order by phisical location owner and type of pc like this example "build1-joe-pc"

 

what is the procedure to refresh the new names on the retrospect database client description.

 

Thank you

 

Maynor

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

How did you login the clients? Did you use subnet broadcast or multicast? If so, you probably don't need to make any Retrospect changes in order to continue doing backup.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the clients were loged-in in multicast mode,

 

What i need to do is reflect the same netbios name recently aplied to all the computers via Active Directory, to my retrospect database.

i mean that when retrospect was installed at the firt time, the computer were added automatically because i used private-public key procedure.

 

do i need to delete all the of them in the retrospect database?

 

do i need to reinstall all the retrospect client after the new netbios name was set?

 

why if i change manually the name of computer in retrospect, after delete the client in the retrospect database, in a few minuts the same name is added again. and the new netbios previosly set by active directory never is showed up

 

Thank you

Maynor

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Edited by Guest

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
the clients were loged-in in multicast mode,

 

What i need to do is reflect the same netbios name recently aplied to all the computers via Active Directory, to my retrospect database.

i mean that when retrospect was installed at the firt time, the computer were added automatically because i used private-public key procedure.

 

do i need to delete all of them in the retrospect database?

 

do i need to reinstall all the retrospect client after the new netbios name was set?

 

why if i change manually the name of computer in retrospect, after delete the client in the retrospect database, in a few minutes the same name is added again. and the new netbios previosly set by active directory never is showed up

 

Thank you

Maynor

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Client names can be changed by going to Configure>Clients>Client Properties>Options Tab. Then click Rename.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×