moved backup destination/move backed files

smiguel

hello all, i am a really newbie to retrospect and the company i work for has used for about some 5years. So everything has been set up and is working fine. But recently i added a new back- up volume and forgot to compress the data so now my disk space is very low (5mb) and so i moved about 4 other volumes to our second hard drive. Now how do i also move the old backed up files to the new destination? I already re-routed the Proactive Backup info...

any help is really helpful. thanks.

p.s. - im using version 7.5 on windows XP

p.s. - im using version 7.5 on windows XP

Mayoff can you move to the Windows Pro section?

smiguel, were these 4 volumes sharing one backup set with the other 10?

If so Than you can use the "Transfer Snapshots" option in tools section of the sidebar.

This lets you transfer over certain parts of one backup set to another.

ok well get this:

i have had low disk for almost a month now and it hasnt backed up all the computers since 3/20...thats bad! any help as what to do? for now i dont want to duplicate or move any other volumes to other hard drives. Is there a way to compress that data or continue to a second hardrive?

what about if i want to delete old back-ups

This is what I was trying to explain how to do. forget the unwanted snapshots, than groom out the data. This will make more room in the HDD. If I were you I would try this first.

Is there a way to compress that data

You have the option to compress data when you backup, make sure to select options and check the "Data Compression (in software)" In your case it is i believe it is too late for that.

or continue to a second hardrive?

When the disk backup set is full it should automatically ask for a new volume to use as the next member. Its as simple as selecting disk and clicking OK.

-jeff