Rebuild Catalog from tape or disk?

sig1dotcom

I am new with this company, and not familiar with Retrospect. We are using version 6!! Old (but still used) data is archived to tapes for retrieval, and to HD for nightly incremental. At the end of the week, a full backup to HD is performed and on Monday mornings the external ATA HD is swapped with a 2nd identical ATA external HD. Recently, the nightly incrementals stopped - some BS - seems like it is full, or wants to name it differently or something. Not really sure - all I know is it doesn't backup nightly anymore. Also, when the drives are swapped on Monday, it never seems to find the new drive - it always has to be manually remapped. I was told to rebuild the disk backup catalog (Tools --> Repair Catalog) but I have a few questions:

1) What catalog is being repaired? Am I inserting all the tapes so the application knows what files are on what tapes, or am I rebuilding from the nightly HD incremental backup, which is incomplete since it hasn't worked for a few weeks? If I do this, will I lose the ability to retrieve data using the "Find File" search?

It seems like I want to rebuild from the tapes - if I understand correctly, is it making a new library of what files are on which tapes? So I can find them easily later?

2) If I wipe out the HD to start fresh, will Retrospect lose it's connection to the HD and/or will it lose the ability to retrieve or find data using the "find file" search?

It is EXTREMELY important that we are able to regularly and quickly be able to find and retrieve data from the tapes, so whatever steps I take must not wipe out that data nor can I afford to lose the ability to locate what data is on those tapes.