Multiple Catalog files

Hi,

I've been using Retrospect Express for a couple of years now and haven´t encountered any real problems but as I've just come across these forums I thought I'd ask a few questions.

1. I often hear references to 'new Drivers available for Retrospect and Retrospect Express' on Mac web sites but I can't seem to find any driver on my system. I'm using Retrospect Express 4.3 Sony Edition. Can someone tell me the name of this file and where it is stored? I know that my version of Retrospect needs Toast to be installed. Could this explain why I can't seem to find any Retrospect drivers?

2. I have a stable system (OS 9.0.4) in the sense that I don't add new apps all that often. I'm a lazy troubleshooter and when faced with strange errors I usually just replace my System Folder with another one that I know to be in good working order. This way I'm back to normal in a restart. Nice and simple.

However I noticed from the start that if I did a search for the 'System Folder' from a restore search dialog box, it would return one System Folder but with multiple copies of several files that had been backed up in each backup session (for example it would have a 'system' file for every backup I'd ever done because the system gets modified every day) when all I wanted was my System Folder as it was at a certain time in the past. (Remember, I'm lazy. I didn't want to manually fish through the contents of the system folder deselecting all those duplicate items)

To workaround this problem what I do is make a copy of the Snapshot at every backup and put it into a folder where I store all my Snapshot catalogs. For example 'Backup Set D 22 Jan 2001' . Then, when I want to restore from a Snapshot I just hit the 'more' button, choose a Snapshot from the copies I have, select the System Folder and Restore it to a convenient place on my hard drive.