Leopard compatibility

Robin wrote last week that EMC had not yet received a final Leopard build from Apple.

Apple's behavior is laid out in some detail in this blog post by Steven Frank:

--------

The following may come as a shock to those of you who aren't developers. Heck, it comes as a surprise to me, and I am a developer.

It increasingly looks like we won't be getting access to the final build of Leopard until the same day our customers do. We have a close-to-final seed, but not the actual shipping bits.

--------

Read the whole thing...

Hi!

Interesting. As a developer myself, with access to the seeds, I'm also a bit pissed off about this situation. Anyway, it's good to know that EMC is (trying to) work on it! smile.gif It would be nice trought to know if Retrospect works well on the latest seed, before the final version. I know it's not the same thing, but it would be a good indication.

Anyway, I guess that it will be a matter of days, unless something really crazy changes on the final seed.

Yours

Miguel Arroz

• 2 weeks later...

Since upgrading to Leopard, Retrospect for Mac 6.1.12.101 is exhibiting very odd behavior. More details of the problem follow the two examples from the log file, immediately below:

------------------------- Example 1 -----------------------------------------

∆ Retrospect version 6.1.126

automatically launched at 11/6/2007 1:00 AM

∆ Retrospect version 6.1.126

automatically launched at 11/6/2007 1:00 AM

+ Retrospect Driver Update, version 6.1.12.101

+ Normal backup using Daily Mac Bkp to HD at 11/6/2007 1:00 AM

To backup set Mac Backup Set B…

- 11/6/2007 1:00:58 AM: Copying Jeff's MacPRO HD…

+ Retrospect Driver Update, version 6.1.12.101

+ Normal backup using Daily Mac Bkp to HD at 11/6/2007 1:01 AM

Can't add to backup set Mac Backup Set B: The catalog is locked.

11/6/2007 1:01:03 AM: E

---------------------------------------------- End Example 1 ---------------------