Problem with a component, Error -1101

Hello,

I'm new to this product, and have read all that I can find about the situation, but I can't seem to find where this error is coming from. I'm hoping one of you all will be able to help me sort this out.

The error we receive is: Component "FSRM Reports" backup failed, error -1101 (file/directory not found).

Questions:

1. In retrospect-speak, what is a 'component'?

2. Does this error mean that there is (or rather, should be) a directory called FSRM Reports somewhere in my backup set?

3. Where can I find what this error refers to in Retrospect itself? I've tried searching for the terms: "FSRM", "FSRM Reports", and "Reports" and have not been able to find anything.

4. On the forums, I found one other post that mentioned about error 1101, but the support given was that it is a message from windows, and not from Retrospect. So now I'm confused, is the error message that retrospect is emailing me from retrospect, or from windows?

It's not a major issue, but it is awfully aggravating to get this message in my inbox every day. A resolution would be fantastic!

Thanks for your time,

• 1 month later...

We have a similar issue with Retrospect 7.0 on a Windows 2003 Small Business Server. The server is backing up a second Windows 2003 R2 (Standard) Server in the domain, and gives the error mentioned above on every attempt to back up the second server. We just added the second server to the backup cycle, and I'd like to know that I could restore it if I had to!

"Microsoft File Server Resource Manager"

Does it write reports that are deleted automatically?

Retrospect scans the hard drive for file and then starts backing up the files found. If the "FSRM Reports" file is deleted in the time between scanning and the actual backup, you will get this error.