Retrospect doing full backup each night on multiple servers

I am working as a contractor for a company that has tasked me with fixing their backup issues (I am fairly new to Retrospect, although the last 6 days have been a major league crash course in the app). Among many issues, most of the servers are being backed up completely (rather than just changed files) on a daily basis (I'm told that their scripts are set to do incrimental during the week with a full over the weekend). Any ideas why this might be happening?

Thanks in advance for any insight in to what might be causing this!

Retrospect version 7.5.370 running on Server 2003.

Backing up a number of different clients ranging from server 2003 with 7.5.111 to OSX 10.4 with Mac client 6.0.109.

Quote:

Among many issues, most of the servers are being backed up completely (rather than just changed files) on a daily basis

What leads you to this conclusion? It may just be, because you are new to Retrospect, that you don't understand its snapshot paradigm, which presents an apparent "full" backup each snapshot from which to restore, collecting in each snapshot the information from the first full backup and all successive incrementals (to use the terminology of other programs).

Russ

No, I mean all files are being backed up. I don't think it is due to lack of understanding (it might very well be, but the staff, who have used the product for some time, are stumped as well).

For example, I found these facts:

I looked at the session (**make that snapshotview**) information for a server. A new backup set was just created on Friday (which would have been the 'full' backup). During this backup, 51,000 files were backed up. The job that was run last night, Feb 26 at 8:45 pm, was a 'normal' job, which means it was their 'progressive' backup. During this job, 51,000 files were backed up. Either the people here are SUPER busy, or there is something up.