ISO File Too Large to Write-One More Time

abradaxis

This topic is listed as a hot thread, but its slowly petering out. Except, in studying it in detail, it seems there are still an awful lot of uners who never got a straight answer. So I'd like to start another thread about this same topic and let anyone interested join it. Hopefully, it will provide some additional information, and not contention between the writers.

I've been using Retrospect for many years now, on a variety of machines, and always with very good results. At times you have to get past the condecension of some of the more experienced users, and of those that disagree with you, but generally you can get the problem sorted out. Not so the case with user's finding their ISO Files too large to write to the requested Bootable CD for disaster recovery.

My problem system is a straightforward Dell desktop. I've been setting it up for my wife, so it's only a week old. In my first attempt at Backup and Disaster recovery, Retrospect informed me that the bootable file was too large to write to a CD, ergo no disaster recovery.

I followed each of the recommendations of Dantz, but the only I386 folder I have is installed on my computer. Dants says its too long, or there are extraneous files in it. But it is only one week old, and we have not added anything but basic stuff.

SO, my quandry is, how do I get a CD-based disaster/recovery disk from this program; certainly a step that Should be made available to me without my becoming a windows guru to figured out what files to leave in and which ones to take out.

I hope someone can pull me out of this mess I'm in. Thanks in advance.

• 1 month later...

Same problem. Info here indicates the following data is written in the iso image:

http://kb.dantz.com/al/12/1/5989.html

1) The Retrospect Application Folder (C:\Program Files\Dantz\Retrospect)

2) The Retrospect Config Folder (C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Retrospect)