Hi

I have an OSX (non booting) volume which retrospect will not back up because it complains about a duplicate dirid. I have treid all the suggestions such as creating a new folder and deleting the old one, verified the volume etc

I can copy the folder in the finder no problems.

Anyone got any ideas or suggestions?

TIA

Steve

Hi

Exactly as described with DiskUtility, FYI I am a software developer and have been using RetroSpect for almost as long as I have been using Macs.

DiskUtils verified the volume fine.

Since I have already created a new folder, copied the contents and deleted to old one I have done all the normal things.

I will try renaming the folder and see what happens

Thanks

Steve

Quote:

FYI I am a software developer and have been using RetroSpect for almost as long as I have been using Macs.

Hi.

How long is that? A week? wink.gif

(Sorry. Couldn't help teasing. I'm not a mind-reader, you know.)

Quote:

DiskUtils verified the volume fine.

Since I have already created a new folder, copied the contents and deleted to old one I have done all the normal things.

Did you try Diskwarrior? Or anything else besides Disk Utility?

Regards

Lennart

Quote:

FYI I am a software developer and have been using RetroSpect for almost as long as I have been using Macs.

everybody on this forum is either a developer, rocket scientist, doctor or lawyer. or the equivalent. it's absolutely amazing to me the braintrust on this forum.

welcome. cool.gif

Hi,

No offence taken smile.gif

I have been using Macs since 1984 and RetroSpect since about 1990 approx. I am an Oracle DBA, and have well over 10 years Linux experience as well ...

Seems a sad reflection on Apple and/or Dantz that I need to buy a 3rd party utility to verify a disjk which Apples Tools say is OK and which the finder thinks is OK. Seems like I have no other choice at this point though.