Only Have RDB Files

My family had used retrospect a while ago and stored the RDB files on a hard drive.

I now have these files and want to access them. They are too old to know what to do with them and I have never used retrospect before. But I can assume theres lots of memories in them.

I have tried to access them. But I dont know what I can do with just RDB files.

Anyone able to help?

wanderlust,

I'll assume that your family's computer—as opposed to their HDD—is lost or inoperable.  You haven't said whether your family used a Macintosh or a Windows computer,, nor have you estimated how old it was, nor have you said whether you accessed the HDD containing the RDB files on a Macintosh or a Windows computer.  But—since you've posted in the Forum for Retrospect Macintosh versions since 2011—I'll further assume the answers to the questions in my preceding sentence are Macintosh, no more than 9 years old, and Macintosh.  But the answers to the first and last questions could just as well be Windows and Windows.

Based on that, what you need to do is install the Retrospect "backup server" application on your own computer, Rebuild a Catalog File on it from the RDB files, and use the Catalog File to Restore the files onto another drive—possibly a USB thumb drive if the total size of the restored files is small enough.  I suggest you phone Retrospect Sales at (888) 376-1078 option 2, and ask about whether you can do this with the Retrospect Solo Edition—which I've never used (I have the Desktop Edition because I backup "client" computers as well).  If the Sales person says yes, ask if Solo Edition comes with 30 days of free Technical Support for the US$39.  If he says no, cagily ask about more expensive Editions—which come with a 45-day free trial that may be all you need.