Can retrospect recover after error.

trevorjharris

Forgive the simple question. I have been using Retrospect 12 desktop for several years. I would like to know if something goes wrong can I just restart the backup and retrospect will just carry on. As and example if I rebooted my pc during a backup. I backup a raid 5 disc to a usb3 disk drive which take over a day to backup and I am afraid of accidently rebooting or if there was a power cut.

Regards Trevor Harris

trevorjharris,

I run a Recycle backup of my MacBook Pro "client" once a week, scheduled for 3 a.m. on Saturday.  Occasionally I'm using the MBP then, and reflexively shut it down when I quit working even though the backup is running.  Lately I've discovered that if I stop working before 3 a.m. but leave the MBP up, Retrospect Mac  16.1 gets a -559 network error precisely 2 hours after I stopped using the MBP—because a change in macOS prevents me from inhibiting non-use shutdown..  In either case, rerunning the Backup script with No Media Action (Retrospect Mac term for Normal) completes the backup.

17 hours ago, DavidHertzberg said:

because a change in macOS prevents me from inhibiting non-use shutdown.

What change is that, then?

Sorry for the hijack, Trevor.

On 10/18/2019 at 9:46 AM, trevorjharris said:

I would like to know if something goes wrong can I just restart the backup and retrospect will just carry on.

Whilst the correct answer is probably "It depends...", interrupting the backup is something you want to avoid if possible[1]. A reboot may be OK, assuming Windows lets Retrospect close down gracefully first, but a power cut or similar could leave the catalog in a strange state. So make sure you are backing up your catalog as well, so you can restore it to a previous "good" version in case of trouble (a good practice, regardless of situation).