Third tape in set full, even though first two tapes mostly empty

Hi all,

I recently started a new job, taking over from someone else, and this is my first time using Retrospect. We are using v14.6.2 on Mac OS 10.11.6 (El Capitan).

Our backup uses a single DLT drive with a tape loader that holds eight tapes. Each media set is three tapes, and it runs a full backup on a Friday, with daily incrementals up to the following Thursday, after which we switch over to the next set (which is preloaded in the tape loader). The recently finished set is then replaced with the next set. The data is fulled from a RAID that is directly attached to the server.

Each tape has a nominal capacity 10.3Tb, so the media set has about 31Tb of capacity. Our current weekly usage is around 6.5Tb.

Until this morning, I hadn't looked at how this is distributed across tapes, but last night tape 3 became full and it asked for a new tape. I'm not sure what data changed on the drive to cause the massive incremental change (we are a media company, and it's not unusual for big files to be added) but I was concerned that the software chose to ask for another tape, wait an hour and then give up mid-backup, despite there being plenty of space on the previous two tapes.

I have attached a screenshot of the media set.

Is this just the way it works, or is my backup not configured correctly? Is there something I can do to the sets to 'defragment' them so that the other tapes are used to their full capacity?

I have seen this or similar questions asked, with various suggestions proposed, and people asking about compression and tape errors. We haven't played around with the compression and there's no tape errors reported, backup speeds seem fine. Buying another tape is not practical because the magazine doesn't have space for four-tape sets and a cleaning tape.