Jump to content
x509

Can I safely downgrade from V15.61 to V12?

Recommended Posts

Guys,

Is it safe for me to downgrade from V15.61 back to the last release of V12?  Will all my backups done by V15 still work in V12?  If it is safe for me to do that downgrade, I will ask Retrospect for a refund of my 15.6 upgrade.

I've been "silent" for a while now, because I have been spending a lot of time trying to deal with a script that broke in V15, and then I had a failed system partition restore on my main system, so i had to spend days (actually evenings and weekends) just reloading all my apps and doing all the necessary configurations.

The last straw was when I think I discovered that a backup script that involved several volumes was backing up only one of the subvolumes, but if I did an immediate backup, everything worked fine.  I need to do more tests when I get back home from this business trip and then document all these issues.  This new problem is in addition to a different script that worked fine in V12 but broke completely in V15.6.  I have spent way too many hours just doing what amounts for free quality testing for Retrospect, plus all the time I had to spend reinstalling Windows and apps after that failed Restore operation.  So I am royally p---ed.

As soon as I get home, I want to finish that testing and then write an email with a multi-page Word doc to Brian Dunagan, Chief Operating Officer.  I will include a list of all my support cases and the poor quality of those responses.  At this point, I have no confidence in support for their ability to deal with bugs or complex configuration issues.  I will also include pages of documentation, including screen shots, about the problems with backup scripts.

Thing about backup software is that it needs to do both backups and restores properly and without a lot of hassle.  That is fundamental.  My recent issues with Retrospect are that it is doing neither.  Features like the Dashboard are secondary, in my opinion.  I have been using Retrospect for over 10 years now, and I have never had issues like I have been with V15.6

x509.

Edited by x509
fix typos

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

x509,

I suggest you look at the cumulative Retrospect Windows Release Notes that cover up to 15.6.1.104.  I administrate Retrospect Mac, but I didn't see anything for Windows version 15 that seemed to be changing the format of either Backup Sets or of the User Interface—those parts of it that don't use the version 15 new features—from version 12.6.

In the case of "a backup script that involved several volumes was backing up only one of the subvolumes, but if I did an immediate backup, everything worked fine", this sounds as if you were getting -530 errors on some of the machines that had the subvolumes.  If so, you may be able to fix that—at least temporarily—by moving your config77.dat file from its location (see pages 463-464 of the Retrospect Windows 15 User's Guide) to the desktop.

Other than that, I suggest you first phone Werner Walter, the chief of Sales, at extension 2 on whichever Retrospect Inc. phone number you use.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

x509,

If you were in fact getting -530 errors on "a backup script that involved several volumes was backing up only one of the subvolumes, but if I did an immediate backup, everything worked fine", you may instead want to look at this post in the Mac 9+ Forum.  I discovered two weeks ago that the real fix was to Remove and re-Add the "client" using Add Source Directly (using a fixed IP address).  (Back in early January I thought that the fix resulted when I moved the corresponding Retrospect Mac configuration file to the desktop—causing it to be regenerated, but several weeks of systematic testing convinced me that the seeming fix in early January really resulted because when I re-Added my "clients"—which regenerating the config file forced me to do—I re-Added them using Add Source Directly.)

The third bulleted list item in the post I linked to in the first paragraph of this post explains what Use Multicast means.  The "Piton protocol"  it refers to is explained on pages 290-291 of the Retrospect Windows 15 User's Guide, so it's not peculiar to Retrospect Mac.  As I asked in the last paragraph of the linked-to post, for you—or for other administrators who have "clients" either connecting for Proactive backups or connecting to the "backup server" over WiFi: does the LAN IP address of those "clients" change?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×