Why is it backing up the EXACT same file?

MrPete

Yikes. I'm new to Retrospect 15, although was a long time user of early versions.

Unless my memory is failing me, Retrospect has always been quite smart about avoiding needless copies of the same file content. The same binary file content only stored once for multiple copies of the original file (even with varying ownership and attributes), for copies on the same or different computers.

So, imagine my surprise and actually horror, to see the following on three successive backups:

a) Day 1, G: drive, 2TB of files stored

b) Day 2, G: drive, nothing new needs to be stored

c) Day 3, G: drive, the SAME files are stored again.

I checked. The stored file information says the same files, with the same timestamp, were backed up on two separate occasions.

What causes this, and how do I eliminate it? Yes, it is using up Real Disk Space. I don't have THAT much backup space!

Any hints much appreciated,

Pete

Is "G" drive an internal or external drive? What is stored on "G" drive?

Check to see whether the option to backup file and folder security information for workstations (not near Retrospect at present so can't say exact wording) is enabled in the backup script options. If this is enabled this can cause this kind of behaviour.

It is an internal drive.

Yes, file and folder security info is being backed up. If that causes this, it's an obvious bug:

* Retrospect is supposed to save metadata separately, so that it doesn't save duplicate copies of files from different clients, just because they have different metadata

* In this case, none of the files on the drive have been touched. It is a large photo archive.

What else happened between day 1 and day 3?