Jump to content
roobieroo

Removed server app from Mac but Retrospect still says it's a server

Recommended Posts

I had a computer that I used for test purposes that used to have the Mac server app installed. I've since deleted the server app and the server directory from /Library/Server but Retrospect still shows that this computer requires a server license. How does Retrospect determine what is a server and what is considered a desktop and how can I get Retrospect to no longer think this is a server machine?

 

If I'm backing up a NAS by adding it as a share, does that also count as a separate server license? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've been confused by this as well.  There are two types of servers, Retrospect Server which is where the backup server software is running, and a hardware server.  Backing up a hardware server counts in Retrospect licensing as backing up a server not a client even though it is a Retrospect client.

 

In order to back up servers you'll need a multi-server license.  That's my understanding.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not sure how Retrospect determines it is a server OS (or not).

 

The easiest way may be to backup all files, erase the disk and install a non-server OS. Then restore the files you need, avoiding to restore any system files.

 

If you added the NAS as a share, you don't need any license at all.

If you are installing the Retrospect Client software on the NAS and backup through that, you need a Retrospect client license. If the NAS runs a server OS, you need a Retrospect server license as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×