Jump to content
PropellerStudios

Folder disappearing after Copy operation, both on the client and the destination

Recommended Posts

We are running Retrospect Single Server on a Mac Mini and backing up about 4 clients. We are a post production audio facility and one part of our Retrospect strategy is to do hourly copy operations of our audio work. I have an 18TB RAID on the server that I'm using as a destination for each of the drives. I'm using the copy strategy 'overwrite entire volume' because it doesn't copy stuff that hasn't changed, so it works well for us. However, on one machine, that strategy erased, or hid the source folder on the client, and did the same thing with the destination. I can still browse the source from within Retrospect, so it appears to still be there, but I can't see it in the Finder, thus making it useless. Anyone else ever run into this? This strategy is working fine on the other clients, but not this particular one.

 

Any ideas?

 

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey, thanks Lennart. That did the trick and made them show up, but do you have any idea why, and how Retrospect might have done this? They are hidden, but the folder name doesn't have a period in it. 

 

Any ideas on how to un-hide them?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Try running Apple's Disk Utility and repair permissions.

Also run the Terminal command to un-hide the folder.

 

If it happens again, contact Retrospect support. Link at top right of this page.

(This is maínly a user-to-user forum.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×