Jump to content
Lennart_T

Why are the catalog files modified at every Retrospect launch?

Recommended Posts

Every time I launch Retrospect it says "syncing" catalog files.

 

 

I have no idea what that does, except that it changes the catalog files' "modify" date, so all of them gets backed up for EVERY backup. How can I prevent that from happening? It's over 25 GB of data EVERY backup.

 

 

Retrospect 12.5.0 (111) on a 27 inch iMac with Mac OS X 10.9.5.

post-8868-0-43634000-1476604957_thumb.png

post-8868-0-49771400-1476605052_thumb.png

post-8868-0-37618600-1476605083_thumb.png

post-8868-0-76485700-1476605115_thumb.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've always assumed that the "syncing" process was simply the console uploading information from the engine. We do not experience any modification to catalog files during this process.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

FWIW -- I don't see this with 13.5.   The console "syncs" my 5 active media sets, but the modify time stamp on the catalogs do not change until a script actually uses the media set.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×