Retrospect Stuck Waiting Trying to Recycle

Hello,

I currently have version Retrospect 8.1.0 backing up a single server.  We have a schedule to backup every night M-F to a tape using an RD1000.  A new tape is put in every day, so 5 different tapes. Have noticed that the backup stopped working and have been troubleshooting a few things.(Was setup by someone else)

The main issue right now is that we want the tape to be erased before each new backup if possible.  I assumed this was what the recycle action was for and have been trying to get it to work but it seems to just stay in waiting for recycle.

If that is not possible then I assume we can look at the grooming feature.

There is only one script.

There is only one backup set.

Any help with this is greatly appreciated as its my first time dealing with retrospect!

You should see a message, something like "Waiting for ...". So what is it waiting for?

You should have five backup sets, one for each day of the week.

You can (should) use one script with five destinations, the five backup sets.

The script should use five schedules, one for each day of the week.

You should use recycle. You can only use grooming for disk backup sets, not tape.

Don't you save any backups longer by archiving a tape, say once a month or so?

To my knowledge these are the only local backups, there is also an offsite that runs.

Also, they are RD1000 Removable Disk, not tapes, my mistake.  I'm guess it is still setup the same way, just select removable disk instead of tape when creating each backup set?

Here is a picture of what it looks like now.

http://imgur.com/veUectO

So I got on remotely a little bit after it was initially supposed to start and it was prompting me to select the disk to backup to before continuing.  

I'm guessing it is gonna do this every night for the first week?

I selected the correct removeable disk, it changed the name of it, then began.