Jump to content
bisigimpact

what to do with old clients?

Recommended Posts

I've been using Retrospect Server to backup and restore some 30 clients for many years now. Generally, when I need to restore to new hardware (for example, if the old computer died and we bought a new computer for the employee), I will install our base set of software (including Retrospect Client) on the new computer, then just restore files to it. I don't bother with disaster recovery or anything. It's just easier to restore the files in our situation.

 

Anyway, one thing that has always bothered me a bit is that, at the end of this process, we have two clients in our backup set: old-computer and new-computer. Once we start backing up new-computer, we basically have duplicate clients. I don't want to forget the old client yet in case we need to restore files from an old snapshot.

 

Is there a way when restoring files to tell Retrospect server, "this old client and this new client are the same, so merge them and don't duplicate backups?"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Forgetting the old client will not stop you from restoring the old files backed up from that client.

So just forget the old client.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×