Jump to content
jlbrown

Grooming now working? Still have lots of backups

Recommended Posts

Version 13.0.1 (106)

 

I have a Media Set with 'Groom to keep this number of backups: 2' set.

 

But the Backups tab shows six. See attached screenshot.

 

I Groomed the media set, but still have 6 backups, not 2.

 

The Groom complete successfully - no errors:

 

+ Executing Grooming at 29/07/2016, 1:42:38 PM (Activity Thread 1)
Grooming Backup Set PP Backup, optimizing for storage...
29/07/2016 1:42:40 PM: Execution completed successfully

 

I feel I'm missing something or something has got corrupted.

 

Any ideas?

 

Thanks, James.

 

post-21788-0-50762900-1469764502_thumb.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The setting means you (should) have two backups of each source.

 

Your screenshot indicates you have at least two sources. The MBP has two backups, so that is OK.

 

But do you have you have only one computer named "Peter Psarros' Computer"? Or is that just part of the name, so you have "Peter Psarros' Computer A" and "Peter Psarros' Computer B"?

And does it only have one disk named "Macintosh HD"? If you at one time replaced or reformatted "Macintosh HD" to another "Macintosh HD", then Retrospect sees them as two separate disks. Likewise, if you have re-partitioned the volume to a new partition size, then Retrospect sees them as two separate volumes.

Two of the backups are back in November last year and the other two are in July this year, so I would expect something happened in late November or early December with "Peter Psarros' Computer" and its "Macintosh HD"

Edited by Lennart Thelander

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks Lennart.

 

Yeah, he got a new computer - his old one was called "Peter-Psarros-MBP-Computer".

 

He only has one HD called 'Macintosh HD'.

 

So how to delete all put the two most recent Backups?

 

Thanks, James.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It looks like he got the new computer in the middle of August.

And then probably reformatted the new computer in the end of November.

 

So 3 different volumes times 2 backups each is 6 backups.

 

If the Mac version of Retrospect was as feature rich as the Windows version, you could easily just "Forget" the old backups.

But that is not the case so you have to do a workaround.

 

Create a new Media Set.

Copy/transfer the last two backups to the temporary Media set.

Recycle the old Media set.

Copy/transfer the two backups back to the original Media set.

 

I do hope these two backup are not the only ones you have. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can manually delete specific "Past Backups" and then run another Groom to get rid of them.  I do this all the time.   It would be faster (probably) than copying to a new Media Set, but YMMV depending on how much data you are talking about.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

You can manually delete specific "Past Backups" and then run another Groom to get rid of them.

Is that something new in version 13? I can't find that possibility in 12.5.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Is that something new in version 13? I can't find that possibility in 12.5.

 

 

I'm running 13.0.1 and can't see an option anywhere to delete past backups.

 

Or do you mean, Maser, delete the .rdb files in the Finder?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unlock your media set -- if it's locked.   Then go to "Past Backups" in the console.  You'll see all the backups for your media set (well, I guess it depends on your groom settings).

 

You can select a past backup and click "Remove".   Then when you groom the media set, it will groom out that specific backup.

 

My media sets are configured to keep X backups (rather than the "Defined Policy"), so YMMV on what you see in "Past Backups", I guess...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks Maser. The Unlock icon is greyed out, so I suppose it is already unlocked.

 

Never noticed the 'Past Backups' section - I just assumed that it could be done from the list of backup in the Media Sets section.

 

Removing 24 backups now (taking a long time!); will then groom the media sets.

 

Thanks for your help Maser & Lennart.

 

James.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I now have a dialog asking to confirm removal of the backups. I have already clicked on Remove and it did the spinning icon as if it was working. It was like this for ages. Then I noticed that it now has 'MacRequestor:...remote endpoint' in red above the buttons. See attached screenshot.

 

Clicking on Remove button doesn't seem to do anything. I am stuck at this dialog.

 

The Console app also lost connection to the server, as I saw it doing the Sync thing.

 

James.

post-21788-0-13770500-1470358893_thumb.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I clicked Cancel, then was able to remove them in smaller groups. Perhaps there was a Backup Script running on one of the Media Sets which had backups I was trying to delete.

All removed now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, I never manually groomed immediately after removing past backups.   I have monthly groom scripts that run, so if I have a need to manually groom out a specific backup, then I just remove the backup and wait for the script to take care of the grooming.

 

*Sometimes* (but usually not), there is an error in grooming that requires a catalog rebuild after the groom.  That's fairly rare, though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unlock your media set -- if it's locked.   Then go to "Past Backups" in the console.  You'll see all the backups for your media set (well, I guess it depends on your groom settings).

 

You can select a past backup and click "Remove".   Then when you groom the media set, it will groom out that specific backup.

 

My media sets are configured to keep X backups (rather than the "Defined Policy"), so YMMV on what you see in "Past Backups", I guess...

 

Is that new for version 13?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×