Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Docs imply that a snapshot is a "COMPLETE" listing of "ALL" the files on a volume at the time a backup runs.

 

Is this true?

I suspect it is, ONLY if the backup selects the ENTIRE volume

 

What if only a certain selection of data is backed up. Does the snapshot list every file on the volume, or only those in the selection? (Whether they were actually backed up or not in the matching session)

 

EG: If I backup C:\Users, will the snapshot show files in C:\ Windows even though they would never be backed up

 

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It only shows what was actually backed up. Or more precisely, what can be restored.

If you choose to omit files during the backup (by various means), the omitted files are not part of the snapshot.

 

Where does the docs imply what you write?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Retro 9 Win User Guide

"Snapshots
Retrospect’s Snapshots make it easy to restore an entire volume or a selected file to its
exact state as of a given date and time. A Snapshot is like a picture of the contents of a
volume at a point in time. It contains a list of all of the files and folders on a volume and the
sessions during which they were backed up."

 

It seems that if you do a selected backup the Snapshot contains ALL the folders on the volume, but only the ones backed up have content.

 

If you do a full volume restore, you get the data you backed up PLUS all the empty folders.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Retro 9 Win User Guide

"Snapshots

Retrospect’s Snapshots make it easy to restore an entire volume or a selected file to its

exact state as of a given date and time. A Snapshot is like a picture of the contents of a

volume at a point in time. It contains a list of all of the files and folders on a volume and the

sessions during which they were backed up."

 

It seems that if you do a selected backup the Snapshot contains ALL the folders on the volume, but only the ones backed up have content.

 

If you do a full volume restore, you get the data you backed up PLUS all the empty folders.

I think that paragraph implies that you backed up an entire volume. (You can't restore an entire volume if did not backup an entire volume.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You've hit the nail on the head there Lennart.

 

The Snapshot shows what "Can Be Restored" as a result of any given backup

 

That's a good way of thinking of it.

 

Conversely the Session shows "What Was Backed Up" during any given backup.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×