Jump to content
Stephen J

Need method for deleting all backups of a client

Recommended Posts

One thing that seems to be missing is a method for removing and deleting the backups of client/s. If we want to stop backing up a client for some reason and no longer need to retain the data, a bunch of data shuffling using Transfer doesn't make sense. There should be a way to select a backed up client and with one click, remove any script elements that reference it, remove it from the catalog file and delete all the backups to free up the space. Seems like a no brainer to me.

 

Stephen

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is really needed feature. We should be able to delete unneeded snapshots or files and recover space.

FYI: You can delete the snapshots one by one. But it takes lots of time and Retrospect is "not responding" for a looong time for each snapshot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This would be incredibly helpful to have.  As of right now, I created a separate clients group that is not a part of the proactive backup, called "_Terminated" and I move employees' clients into that group when they leave the company or we no longer need to backup the client pc.  Problem is, even though I'm not creating new backup data, I cant easily get rid of the old data either. 

 

And Lennert, you are absolutely correct about "not responding" for a looooong time.. Retrospect seems to do that for nearly every action requested of it. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×