Jump to content
flickerfly

Impact of "Forget Client"

Recommended Posts

I have three servers that were decommissioned. However, we want to keep the backups around "just in case". If I "forget" the clients will that remove my ability to recover from the backups taken of them previously?

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, forgetting the clients won't affect the contents of the Media Sets (where the backed up files are stored).

 

You can restore the files to any local disk or any client.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OR

You could create a folder for "Decommissioned Clients" and drag them in there. Then you still have them but they are separated from your production clients.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To avoid losing data when recycling media sets, but still keep a backup, you could Transfer the most recent (or any other) Snapshots of your DeCom clients to another backupset.

If you have many backups of them over a lengthy period this could save considerable space on your backup media.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×