condensing down a dataset to only the most recent files - question from non-IT professional

philx509

I have to start this question by saying that I am not an IT professional who has in-depth knowledge and training on Retrospect.  I'm an "enthusiast" user with reasonable technical knowledge in general who uses Retrospect because it works very well to back up my home LAN, so I'm wiling to spend the money to buy Retrospect Professional.  I need someone to point me in the right direction and then I will gladly read the manual to work out all the details.

I use multiple datasets to back up various kinds of data, and I start a new dataset of each type either monthly, quarterly, or yearly.  I have some datasets going back 5+ years now, and I would like to condense them so that I have just one copy of each file in each dataset, the newest version of that file.  How do I go about doing that?  Is this grooming, or it is something else? 

Whatever this process, can it be scripted?  Can I select a dataset and then apply this script, without having to edit the script the way I normally do for backup processes?

Again, once I am pointed in the right direction, then I will read the manual to work out the details. 

Thanks in advance.

x509

Are you wanting to keep the most recent version of the files that still exist on the volumes that are in the backup set or do you also want to keep the most recent version of files that are no longer existing on the volumes?

Scillonian,

Good question! If I have a choice, I would like to also keep the most recent version of files that no longer exist on the volume, as long as I can distinguish between the two types of files.  I would be OK with some process that resulted in two "children" files, one each for the files that still exist and no longer exist on the volume.

I should have said in my initial post that I'm trying to recover a lot of space devoted to backup of files that aren't the latest version in that dataset.