Urgent: Retrospect 8.1/Windows 8 File Comparison Issue! Thousands of Warnings

nicolas_retrospect

Hi,

I believe I found an issue with Retrospect 8.1 and Windows 8, and I really hope that someone here will have some guidance, as I need Retrospect to be up and running asap. I have been using Retrospect for over 10 years, at work and home, on countless machines, hundreds of times with no issues, ever, ever. Yesterday, I purchased the new Retrospect 8.1 to use on a Windows 8 machine that has been fully tested. I backed-up the C:/ drive to an external USB HDD by a duplication script (all files, verification on); the duplication completed no problem, but when doing the comparison stage, Retrospect gave over 38,000 warnings! I have never seen that. I could not believe my eyes. It says that 38,000 files do not compare. Those are files of any type, in Program Files and Windows. Here is an example:

File "C:\Program Files\Common Files\microsoft shared\ink\TabTip.exe": didn't compare

File "C:\Program Files\Windows Defender\MsMpCom.dll": didn't compare

File "C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe": didn't compare

All programs were closed except Retrospect and running services and AV.