Backup Tape Set Catalog - new user

Hi there,

I am new to Retrospect and am using it with a 9 cart changer. The last 2 backup sets I did were each a 2 tape set. All I want is to simply print out (or even look at) a list of what was copied into each set. Each Backup was 3 or 4 different copies, but I imagine there musr be a simple way to just say " Show me what files are on my drives".

I asked support and was told this:

To view items you have backed up, go to Reports>Contents to view items previously backed up. You can also go to Configure>Backup Sets>Properties>Snapshots>browse.

I am on a mac, and in the reports sectikon on lower left there is no "Contents" option.....nor is there a "Configure" menu por folder.

What are they trying to tell me and how do I get a list of whats on the drives short of starting a restore, or looking at each backup report 1 at a time and writing this down. I'm sure there is an easier way.

Thanks in advance for your help with this simple question.

eli

In Retrospect 8/9/10 for Mac, the information about what's in the backup set's catalog for each source volume or favorite folder is listed in Past Backups. If you highlight a backup and click "Browse," you will see the entire contents of the snapshot for that source, as of the date and time of that particular backup session. The snapshot includes not only files that were backed up during that session, but every file that was backed up from that source in previous backup sessions, provided the files are still on the source. (You can limit the file list to only those that were backed up in a given backup session by checking the appropriate box.)

To see every file that was ever backed up for a given source or for multiple sources, you need to run a dummy Restore operation, selecting the option to search for files and specifying the search criteria as broadly or as narrowly as you like.