BluRay Drive for Mac

I've been using the Panasonic / Matshita BD-MLT SW-5584 for several years, and an earlier model before that.

It worked fine, with caveats (you have to enable optical drives in a setting file, and the retro background process does not play with the finder in controlling the eject mechanism, quite a pain since you have to shut down the retro init when you need the drive for something else).

I am actually browsing this forum for any insights for a recent problem, which is that the drive no longer seems to format new blank BD disks. This started intermittently after an update to retrospect to 9.0.2. I am still on Snow leopard, and would appreciate any input from the old hands or the retrospect moderator.

thanks

cbum,

I appreciate your response, but it doesn't sound altogether encouraging. No disrespect to you at all... but shouldn't that list of compatible drives be more up to date? Is it just me not seeing any BluRay drives mentioned, or are there truly no BluRay drives that are 'officially' supported? I mean, is someone dropping the ball here? I can't afford to go out and buy drives *hoping* they'll work. I need a solution. I've just joined this board, you've been on it a while longer... has this been an ongoing concern?

Anyway, thanks.

Optical drive support seems to me a low development priority in Retrospect. Neither Retrospect 8 nor Retrospect 9 support even DVD drives properly - there's the hack into the configuration file to enable their use in at all, and then the Retro Engine doesn't play nice with any other Mac applications that use the DVD.

Edit: Corrected Retrospect versions.

• 3 weeks later...

As of this reply, Retrospect 10 and 11 are not versions we have ever created. The current version is 9.